Home     Governance     How to Join     Meetings & Events     Reports & Announcements    Bylaws

Approved May 23, 2015


Neuropsychopharmacology Section of IUPHAR


1.  Name
The name of the section will be the Neuropsychopharmacology Section of the International Union of Basic and Clinical Pharmacology (IUPHAR). 
2. Aims and functions of the Neuropsychopharmacology Section
The object of the Section is to encourage international co-operation in preclinical and clinical neuropsychopharmacology by:

3. Membership
The membership of the Neuropsychopharmacology Section will be comprised of preclinical and clinical pharmacologists and psychiatrists interested in neuropsychopharmacology who are members of a national, regional or international society of pharmacology, clinical pharmacology, psychiatry, neuroscience or related discipline that is a member of IUPHAR.
4. Executive Committee
The officers of the Executive Committee (EC) will be elected by majority vote at a properly constituted business meeting of the Section normally held at a World Congress of Basic and Clinical Pharmacology.  The Executive Committee shall consist of the Chairman, the Vice-Chairman, the Secretary, the Treasurer, and four to six additional members. Election shall be from a slate of nominees presented by the Executive Committee. Additional nominations may also be initiated from the floor at the business meetings.
In the event that the office of Chairman becomes vacant between properly constituted business meetings of the Section, the Vice-Chairman shall succeed to that office for the rest of its term. In the event that the offices of Secretary or Treasurer becomes vacant between properly constituted business meetings, the Chairman with the concurrence of the Executive Committee shall appoint one of the Councilors to fill the office for the rest of its term. Under any of the above circumstances or if other positions on the Executive Committee become vacant, the Executive Committee shall be reduced in number until such time as a new Committee is elected.
The Executive Committee may raise and maintain such funds, as it deems necessary to carry out the Section's activities.  The Executive Committee may establish and determine the membership of Working-Groups concerned with special education or research activities or scientific meetings. The Executive Committee may also discontinue any Working-Group.
Members of the Executive Committee shall be elected for one term of office of four years and may be re-elected for a second term of four years. After completion of two consecutive terms, if not elected to the post of Chairman, Vice-Chairman, Secretary or Treasurer, members of the Executive Committee are not eligible for a third four year term until after an interval of at least four years.
A general business meeting of the Section will normally take place at least every 4 years at each World Congress of Basic and Clinical Pharmacology. The business meeting will receive a report from the Executive Committee and will elect by majority vote of the members and delegates present the next Executive Committee.